Just the Goods Newsletter – Spring 2017

Hello everyone,

I hope you are enjoying signs of spring wherever you are, and that you’re finding fun in scheduling summer plans!

As you might already know, I like to send newsletters three or four times per year when I have something new and/or notable to share.

The first piece of news is that – in a few short days – Just the Goods will be 8 years old, and I can hardly believe it! From the bottom of my heart, I want to thank you for being part of this thrilling journey, which is forever taking new and exciting turns. Evolving from a hobby, to a part-time endeavour, to a full-fledged creation with its very own life force, I can’t help being caught aback given that I’ve generally made decisions about JTG quite spontaneously. I’m not entirely sure what direction Just the Goods will take in the future, but being someone who has never lasted longer than 14 months in any job I’ve ever held (*lol*) it strikes me that – for the first time – it’s important to start making plans. It is no longer possible for one person to keep up with all of the orders received each hour of each day, but I want to retain my commitment to handmaking on a human scale, so it’s time to start thinking about how to ensure this without slowing production/shipping time. Thank you for presenting me with this fascinating challenge – I am eager to take it on as Just the Goods moves towards the next 8 years, and beyond.

Apart from this big news, today’s message will be brief in that I mostly want to let you know I’ll be taking a week away at the end of May to recharge my batteries, and to give you an update on recent fundraising efforts and a new collaboration. Please find details below =-)

Warmly,
Milena

Upcoming Temporary Closure

Although I’ve managed to sneak a few days off since the end of February, 12+ hour days are making me sleeeeeepy *lol*. In order to recharge my batteries a little, Just the Goods will be closed May 26 – June 1. Orders placed by May 19 will be shipped by May 26. Orders placed May 20 – June 2 will begin shipping June 7 – 9, with additional batches shipping the following week as quickly as I can manage. I won’t be online during this absence but look forward to replying to any messages when I return. Thanks!

Fundraising for Standing Rock a Success!

Liz of The Granola Goat and I would like to thank you for making our collaborative fundraising effort to support the Water Protectors at Sacred Stone Camp a success – with your interest in Forest Spirit, we were able to raise a total of $534 USD (~$729 CAD). The encampment was terminated in February, but the Indigenous Coalition at Standing Rock continues fighting for all the water, earth, air, and all living things and is calling for global intersectional resistance to fossil fuels and fascism through long-term movement building. I absolutely agree that this is a fight for the long haul, and I’m so grateful to all of you that we could make this modest contribution together as part of the many other actions I imagine many of us are undertaking at other levels. That being said, if you can give more, please do by visiting sacredstonecamp.org, or contributing to other Indigenous led resistance movements in your area.

The image below is of a print by Nicolas Lampert, which is available for sale at Justseeds Artists’ Cooperative, a decentralized network of 30 artists committed to social, environmental, and political engagement. It’s pretty awesome and I thought I’d share it with you ❤

 

Liz and I are looking forward to collaborating on future fundraising projects, and are already concocting something we hope to release in June. Please keep in touch with us via social media to find out more.

Say Hello to Fat Lye Soap Co.!

I love collaborating with other handmakers by offering their awesome work at justthegoods.net. Over the past year, I’ve gotten to know Jennifer Chung of Fat Lye Soap Co., based in Winnipeg and we finally took our Instagram friendship to the next level and hung out in real life. That was super fun on its own, but imagine my smile when I opened a great big box of beautiful handmade soap that I can now share with you. Fat Lye Soap Co., features a range of nourishing plant-based oils and beautiful botanical additives to create a soft, spa-like lather. Every detail is carefully considered, including eco-friendy packaging made from plantable seed paper! Just the Goods is currently offering 4 unique varieties, with a few more on the way. Check it out here.

New Product: Litha/Summer Solstice Ritual Bath and Lotion Set

​In February I co-launched a springtime themed bath salt and lotion set with Canadian online retailer, Tiroir-Noir, designed to welcome the lighter half of the year by gathering our energies and bringing forth new passion and ideas into the world. The soak features dried strawberry, dried jasmine buds, chamomile essential oil and a drop of sunflower seed oil to bring in the light. The lotion features gentle honeysuckle attar. But, as the wheel of the year turns we’re moving toward summer and I’m excited about the plans I’ve been developing for Litha/Summer Solstice! The Ostara set will be available for only a few more days and I’ll be launching the Litha set soon! Stay tuned to Instagram and Facebook for details =-)

 

Keep in Touch!

Don’t forget, the best way to keep in touch for the latest Just the Goods news – especially deadline reminders relating to temporary lab closures – is via social media. Find me on Instagram @just.the.goods or on Facebook @justthegoods =-)

 

Final Note

You are receiving this newsletter because — as per the conditions outlined by the Canadian Anti-Spam Legislation that came into effect July 1, 2014 — you’ve been in touch with Just the Goods in the past either by making a purchase or requesting wholesale information within the last two years, or you have chosen to remain subscribed to this quarterly newsletter rather than choosing to click the unsubscribe link at the base of each of each one. With that said, if you would prefer to no longer receive communications from Just the Goods, please let me know and I will remove your email address immediately. And of course, you may also unsubscribe using the link below =-).

As always, thank you for your ongoing support! It is an absolute pleasure to handcraft natural skin and body care products, providing a healthier, small-scale alternative to the corporate “beauty industry”. I wouldn’t be able to do it without you!

With all my best,
Milena

Just the Goods (Winnipeg, MB)
handmade natural + affordable skincare for everyone
http://www.justthegoods.net

Leave a Reply

